0

Click to Contact  or 

Call 1-888-345-0809

Monday - Friday 7 am - 5 pm Pacific

 

Maximum-Stretch

Overall Product Rating
8 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

8 Item(s)

Great product Review by Philly Man
Overall Product Rating
I ordered both the Super Primer and Super Stretch about 8 years ago. I got a 5-gallon pail of the Super Primer, and 2 5-gallon pails of the Super Stretch. I have a flat roof for our converted playroom (used to be a garage) with the rubber sheeting that was installed 7 years earlier and I wanted put a coating on it instead of replacing it. So back then i put on two coats of the Primer, and one pail turned out to be enough for the Super stretch. I still had 2/3rds of the Primer left over. I put the primer in the basement, along with the unopened Super Stretch. (I didn't have any leaks or anything prior to using the products 8 years ago.)

About 18 months ago, I noticed the coatings started to 'alligator' in some places, especially near my downspout. Still no leaks. Based upon what was written on the cans in terms of longevity, it lasted a lot longer than they say it will.

So I finally got around to digging out the pails from my basement and applied both again this month. The Primer was a little tackier after two coats this time, but that was ok since I was putting a top coat on. I waited a week, and then applied the pail of Super Stretch. It had never been opened in the 8 years since I bought it, and it was fresh and had almost no separation of ingredients (maybe 3%). Very little mixing was required. Last time, I had used a driveway coater squeegee to apply both products. This time I used a normal 9-inch paint roller with the 3/8-inch nap, with an extension pole. Very easy to apply both products.

I probably put the Super Stretch on a little thick, since I used the whole 5 gallons on about 270 square feet, including cutting in the area around the drain and along the main brick flashing of the house. But i figured the first application lasted more than years with no issues, so I'd do the same.

Replacing the roof with a new rubberized coating will probably cost me $1,500 or more now, so spending about $250 to gain 5+ years of life is a bargain. I will be back for more in 5-7 years. Great Stuff! (Posted on 9/17/2016)
Does a great job Review by Clyde
Overall Product Rating
My shop is a 30X40 with a 4/12 pitch metal roof, build in 1983. Painted poorly 10 years ago. Although I did not have any leaks yet it did have a lot more rust spots than I wanted.(lol) I brought the primer to treat the rust spots and let it dry, then applied the Maximum-Stretch. It goes on smooth and fast. My trouble was I put it on too thin and had way too much left over. So a phone call later soon had me putting a second and thicker coat on. I was using a 6" HD Brush. I am VERY satisfied with the ending results. Looks great. I also painted our 5th wheel camper as well. (Posted on 5/11/2016)
great stuff Review by michael
Overall Product Rating
My roof has leaked since it was built. They put a 1 story low pitch roof addition on a 2 story peaked roof house. Most of the rain from the peaked roof landed on one spot on the low pitched roof. I guess it was too much, the rain could not get off the roof fast enough. I tried everything. I cant tell you the joy of looking up at the bottom of my roof from the inside, because all the drywall has long since collapsed, and not seeing even one leak. Since most of the roof was rotted . i replaced all of the deck with new plywood andi used the elasto barrier primer, seam tape and fabric. I live in CT, where we get all 4 seasons. Snow sits on the low pitched roof for most of the winter. Freezing and thawing. That is when i would expect this product to fail, if it was going to fail. Had it on for a year. No leaks. If you have a problem roof, this is the stuff you want. Added benefit, if looking at how much detail of your house and yard that google maps can see, bothers you, it dries to a bright white. When the sun hits it, i expect google to get snow blindness and not see anything. (Posted on 8/9/2015)
Super Product! Review by Metal Roof
Overall Product Rating
We have a metal roof on our place in NM and would get driven rain up under an overhang and leak inside the building. Bought a 5 gallon bucket and applied two coats to the seam where the two roofs overhang each other, and now no leaks! Your product worked as advertised and the bonus is it is made in the USA! Keep up the good work folks.

Best regards,
Bob & Nancy Shape
Shapes & Shadows Ranch Arabela, NM (Posted on 7/20/2015)
Max Stretch Review by Spenser in Virgina
Overall Product Rating
I used this product (Maximum Stretch) on my 20 year old asphalt shingle roof (light green). We had a 105 degree day and I used an infrared thermometer to compare the part of the roof that had been coated against the part that wasn't. The non-coated side was 133 degrees. The coated side was 108 degrees. The difference would probably be more dramatic with a darker (black) shingle. Also I capture the water for reuse in my vegetable garden so it was important that this paint was non toxic. It also provides a good grip when walking around on the roof to clean out the gutters. BOTTOM LINE Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
Spencer (Posted on 12/1/2014)
Roof Cooling & Energy Savings Review by David Perlstein,
Overall Product Rating
We have a 95 year old Spanish style house that was impossible to keep cool during the summer. Our electric bill for last August alone was $600 and we still couldn’t get the living room temperature below 90 F….day or night.

This year we were almost ready to sign up for a $25,000 fix when I saw your site on the internet. I ordered 15 gallons of Maximum Stretch…enough for one coat on our roof. With my infrared thermometer, I took the temperature of the living room ceiling before I started. It registered 87 F. By that afternoon, I finished the very easy “pour it out and roll it on” application and the temperature dropped to 75 F.

Not only did we save the $25,000, we are saving $100 per week in energy costs and will pay for the products in less than 6 weeks.

Thank you Ames!
David Perlstein,
San Jose, CA (Posted on 11/17/2014)
Super Elasto Barrier and Maximum Stretch did the trick Review by Christopher Weiand
Overall Product Rating
I bought some Super Elasto-Barrier, Maximum-Stretch and seam tape to use on my flat roofed garage with rolled roofing. In the eight years I have owned my home I have always had trouble with leaks. I have a 1000 sq. ft. garage so it’s not a small structure. Your product went on with such ease. In the last two weeks we have had a couple of downpours or rain and two days of constant rain. NO LEAKS!! I am so amazed. It is so nice to not have to worry about it anymore. If anyone has troubles with leaks I will pass on your name to them. I am going to let my roof go until next spring to see how tough winter is on it. Then next spring I will get some more Maximum-Stretch and give the areas where I have trouble another coat.

THANKS GUYS!!!!!
Christopher Weiand (Posted on 11/17/2014)
Very Impressive Review by Chris
Overall Product Rating
I first saw the product and what it could do at a demonstration. I later tried the product out myself and was very amazed at how pliable and strong the product really was. After applying I have had not more leaks. (Posted on 10/23/2014)

8 Item(s)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Maximum-Stretch

How do you rate this product? *

 1 star2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Overall Product Rating
Maximum-Stretch
$169.00
Thank you for shopping at Ames Research Laboratories